Skip to content

God—- Please help me

December 9, 2010

Someone commented that we should only pray to one God, one should have faith in one religion only.

When we pray to multiple Gods (I will explain this later) this confuses the Gods also and also shows our lack of faith in one particular one. It also leads to fights between the Gods. And if we pray to different Gods at the same time, they (different Gods) also get confused as to who should take care of the one who is praying.

Am I sounding confusing? Actually I amย  ๐Ÿ™‚

We all know that in Hindu mythology there are hundreds of Gods

Then we have different religions with their own Gods.

I visit church, Gurudwara, Dargah, jain temples, then different temples of different Hindu Gods like Hanuman, Shiv, Krishna, Ganpati, Sai baba etc etc.

When I am troubled I visit all the temples and pray to the idol of that particular temple to set things right for me.

Depending on the comment made above it means that by visiting and praying to all the different Gods, I am confusing all of them. Each one may be thinking that the other one will take care of me J. And each one will be passing the buck on other one.

Actually the above comment also made me thinking that why do we have so many types of God? And why do we pray to him?

When it is said God is one then why do we have so many different avtaars of God?

Of course when we say that God is omnipotent, he knows everything , everything is as per his wish then why do we ask him for things, why do we pray to him when some near and dear one is not well?

Why do we request him to set things right when things are not going as per our wish? If he is the creator of us, if everything is supervised by him, when everything is predestined then he should know what we want. Then why ask him?

And if everything is predestined then we do we worry because whatever will be will be.

And further do we commit some mistake by asking the same things, praying for the same thing by visiting different temples?

Should one stick to one particular branch of religion only or one should only have faith in one specific form of God?

Suppose if I visit one temple and pray there and ask for something and then if I visit another temple and ask the same thing there also does it mean that I donโ€™t have faith in the idol of first temple that is why I am praying to other one ?

Confusions confusions

Any answers???????????

Oh God help me ๐Ÿ™‚ can any of the thousands of Gods and Goddesses present in this universe answer this?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 2:12 am

    Too many Gods and too many needs to ask for…

    It is up to you to sense it if you want to believe there is one God or many Gods. Is your God omnipotent, ever nescent, ever present, kind and benevolant like the God DG has. DG’s God doesn’t need mediators, rituals and lesser Gods in between to communicate on her behalf. DG can just raise her head and call upon her creator when ever she feel likes and it is always answered. It works for her, why? because she has accepted there is a difference between needs and wants. Her needs are provided for so her wants are within reach.

    People, places, things and events are all predestined but humans are given free will to accept them or not to accept; to enjoy them and not to; to do the right thing without hurting anyone or do the wrong thing and come back (rebirth) to do tin.he work again. DG has learned it all depends on how you want tolive your life being slave to controlling people, places, things and events or go with the flow.

    If nothing works try serenity prayer:

    God grant me the serenity
    to accept the things I cannot change;
    courage to change the things I can;
    and wisdom to know the difference.

    Endnote: Try what ever works nothing is right or wrong. Just don’t be like …

    Definition of Insanity: doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.
    Albert Einstein

    Peace,
    DG

    PS: You can share DG’s God both DG and God have no problems in sharing…

    • December 9, 2010 9:00 pm

      Thanx for sharing your God/
      but how do i reach him?

      • December 9, 2010 9:25 pm

        Do you mind if my God is SHE?
        I’ll give you the conact number over gchat. There is no protocol to follow and I won’t be mediating, it will be between you two.
        Peace,
        DG

    • MARK permalink
      December 10, 2010 12:54 pm

      I have been here to long , although it seem to others I have allot to live for , I can no longer find the will to believe this is true . I have been under the care of G-d for my whole life but I have lost all that drives me … two years over the limit, I think it is time to get on with what I know will put me to rest.. I think before Christmas .I know you will not understand and it has nothing to do with you but I am in to much pain from life . I ask only that G-d will understand.

      • Dolores permalink
        May 16, 2014 7:40 am

        Hi Mark did you make it through some more years? I hope so. I know life is painful and the nature of reality is horrifying right now with all the half truths. But there are sparks of mystery and magic, and if you practice breathing and being still in your meat puppet you may find you don’t need much purpose other than to care for yourself, for those around you (have compassion for their capacities), and think positively therefore increasing your ability to comprehend the beauty and peace that is alluded to in this world on the material plane (I.e..the epic sparkles on the ocean from the sun, the sweet smells and peace in nature, the occasional kindness of humanity…) and that exists all pervading aรฑd ever present in other realms. But if you die before exercising these qualities it may be harder as you die and you may have to start over on the search for truth and beauty and who knows what the circumstances your soul stands in thenze will be like, and maybe it will be worse than now!?

  2. Confimred Atheist permalink
    December 9, 2010 2:45 am

    Confusion , Confusion !??! Not Really !!

    I’d suggest why not take an Agnostic approach for a change (going by your post, dont we all need a break, then why not Him too).
    Follow your heart — do the good deeds / the right thing — that I beleive is as good as praying.

    Like to beleive in what W.K.Clifford said — It is wrong always, everywhere and for everyone to believe anything upon insufficient evidence.

    If you dont have any evidence of God ….then just do good to others and consider your heart as the temple. Pray to your heart –to keep beating. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Lastly, as great Chanakya said …..
    God is not present in idols. Your feelings are your god. The soul is your temple. ~

    • December 9, 2010 9:03 pm

      if he needs a break then he is not GOD. God is supposed to ever active and over active.’how can he think of taking a break?
      it is all right when every thing is going for you to say — do the good deeds
      but ask and think of those who are facing some stresses, who are undergoing some crisis they have only one support system to fall back upon and that is GOD
      just praying to him, just kneeling before him gives them immense satisfaction and boost up their confidence

    • Elisabeth Read permalink
      January 20, 2012 12:12 am

      I am not an atheist but good job. it is uplifting whether you life with faith or without.

      Regards
      Elisabeth

  3. December 9, 2010 3:23 am

    Too many questions ๐Ÿ˜› Check out this li’l god can convince you. Read this -> http://nkr4068.blogspot.com/2010/09/oh-god-but-where-are-you.html

  4. December 9, 2010 9:45 am

    “It also leads to fights between the Gods.”

    … Humans fight over Gods… since it is a matter of power, pelf, influence… etc for them. Yet the blame for it is squarely placed on God. How convenient! Humans close lakes, etc to make way for highrises… yet when there is a shortfall of rain… they blame the rain Gods! Smart na??

    … And hindu mythology does not have hundreds of Gods. God is one… we imagine God in various forms and have different names for these forms. Also different religions refer to God by different names… but ultimately they pray to the one supreme force.

    … Controversies are man-made… and so are the brinkmanships. When each tries to abuse and/or put down the ‘God of the other’ they are referring to the same God even they pray to… since God is one.

    • December 9, 2010 9:08 pm

      God is one but then we do have different forms of GOD
      my question is if God is one then why have different forms
      and if GOD is one then why do we pray to different forms on different days
      like S.R Ayaager said for wealth we have Laxmi, for education we have saraswati,for marriage we have Shiv. etc. not only that monday is for Shiv, Tuesday is for ganpati, thursday for saibaba, friday for mata
      if God is one ( even i believe in that ) then why pray to different forms on different days?
      does it help?

      • December 9, 2010 9:28 pm

        Why waste time with clecks in between how about going directly to the head of the organization. I have a good rap with the top guy, so I don’t need inter mediaries.
        I guess you have a choice to follow the polythiesm and it’s different days. Will your Gods come after you if you following them?
        If yes, then I would not go for vengeful Gods.

        DG

      • December 9, 2010 9:49 pm

        Too many typos, I meant will your Gods be offended like your MIL if you don’t follow the ritual or day of overship or correct pronunciation etc. If yes, then you are in a hard place.
        If your Gods are vengeful then I’ll stay away from them.
        DG

  5. December 9, 2010 11:45 am

    Here is just a short explanation for millions of Gods. Let us say God=Government.
    Can you see government? You require representatives of the government(manifest forms). Say you have work with finance dept then you go to the one who represents finance. In our case it is Lakshmi. But now can you go to knowledge dept(Saraswati) and ask for money? She cannot help. So only the one associated with finance can help you. But in the end it is all to do with the same Govt=God! Your questions are many so I sincerely hope that you find your guide(Guru) who can answer the questions which arise. Just for your knowledge-that which you are doing is really correct…means the first step to spiritual is called Quest…asking question! In Sanatan Dharma we begin with questioning everything and saying Not This, Not This or neti, neti! Hope this short explanation helps.

    • December 9, 2010 9:33 pm

      this is the best explanation ever heard about different forms of GOD ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanx

  6. December 9, 2010 3:47 pm

    Like show rooms, we have Gods- If you want knowledge , go to Saraswathi temple, Laxmi for Money, Ganesha for ‘Buddhi’, Shani to ward of trouble, Hanuman for strength etc. So many choices available to ‘We the people’!

  7. December 9, 2010 7:27 pm

    God might be true, but religion and belief are certainly placebo’s at best. Practice what you will and whatever that makes you happy.

    It is free will :-).

    If God does let you know, please share his answers with us.

    • December 9, 2010 9:34 pm

      the moment i come to know any thing from God I will surely share the same with all my friends.

  8. December 10, 2010 7:20 am

    comment recieved on my post and its answer
    If kheeling before the God gives a person the confidence ….. which cleraly means its just about the Confidence in that person …… and not about God ..so do it in front of anybody …Ram or Rahim how would it matter ……. us bunde ko sirf confidence hee booste karna hain naa ….. thn what is the ocnfuision or rather what should be the confusion ….jo temple mila uss mein baith jao …

    and as you mentioned ….. its all destiny …. then whether he prays or not …should not really matter right ….. and if praying matters … than your destiny funda goes for a toss …. ๐Ÿ™‚

    miracles never happen ……. you act on your stress / misery to get rid of it ……

    AND NOW MY ANSWER

    so when am I saying that you should kneel before only Hindu God.
    as far as I am concerned as i said I bow in front of any GOD whether Hindu.Sikh>Muslim or chirtistian
    my question was kneeling before different forms of GOD does it create fights between different forms, or does it show our lack of faith and confidence in one particular form?

    I know miracles don’t happen. even though i would do anything to let a miracle happen

    and i also said that when we know that everything is pre destined then why do we pray to God, or ask him for soemthings as per our wish ?
    Is it to change his mind and change whatever has been pre written?
    and answering your Miracles never happen—- you act on your stress/misery to get rid of it—-
    my answer is we will act on our stress and misery to get rid of it because IT IS PREDESTINED that we will work towards letting our stress and misery go
    LOL
    I am a confirmed believer in destiny — you can not just change my thinking
    my writing to you this answer was also predestined and it is as per the wishes of that some one who is sitting up somewhere
    hum to mehaj khathputliyan hai. hamari dor to us uupper wale ke haath hai.

    • December 10, 2010 10:08 am

      http://whatkrsnasays.blogspot.com/2010/06/free-will-or-destiny.html.
      Dear Anju, here is again a small explanation for your idea about destiny in my post last June. I hope it helps in your quest. Praying before God helps us in alleviating our sufferings and changing a certain way how prarabdha works. Saibaba put his hand in the dhuni and got burnt, when asked why He did that, He answered that a small child had fallen into the fire and He just saved it from getting burnt badly. The grace of God or Guru just cushions our karma’s sufferings,but suffer we must as per the rule. Kneeling before God may change our future lives course also. Just the way the plan for a better 2011 is done now(that is before 2011 arrives) so also by taking recourse to God our future may be secured. God bless you.

    • Khan permalink
      December 10, 2010 6:08 pm

      We Muslims believe in Al-Qadar, which is Divine Predestination, but this belief in Divine Predestination does not mean that human beings do not have freewill. Rather, Muslims believe that God has given human beings freewill. This means that they can choose right or wrong and that they are responsible for their choices.

      Also , dont forget to watch this video ..if only you are REALLY serious about this predestination :

  9. December 10, 2010 9:09 am

    God help us!

  10. MARK permalink
    December 10, 2010 1:37 pm

    I do not know Y I have been chosen this place and time but I know G-d, has his purposes that is all that really maters. I am born a Jew but understand the reason and the hope of his son … i have read the bible ,the new ,the old and even the book of Mormon . Faith is what it is all about . I have been given more than my share of Faith too see his hand in all but I have somehow lost the binding part of Faith, Hope. I see now what Jesus was looking at when he looked at all his accusers along with the ones to weak too speak. He never once defended himself , there is no reason to speak among the def and unwilling. The one symbol G-d taught under ….the Jewish symbol of life before the man made symbol , the cross. It is written……

  11. Khan permalink
    December 10, 2010 5:26 pm

    The perfect definition for God is :

    One and only one.
    Eternal.
    God begets not nor is begotten .
    There is none comparable and one like God .

    If ANYTHING which fulfills ALL these criterias then it is God ๐Ÿ™‚

    Understand each line carefully and Think about it !

  12. December 11, 2010 12:49 pm

    To me the problem is clear. It is not a question of too many gods, but too many religions!. I am agnostic and by definition I have greater things to interest my intellect in rather than question the existence of a [dubious] entity.

    An interesting analogy from what a certain khan said. In accordance with believers.
    God creates man-> Man creates Religion-> Man defines God.

    Now for the uninitiated it might seem Man>God ๐Ÿ˜€

    What is predestination, a place you reach before you reach?. For all I know, I shall be reduced to carbon after I pass away. Disintegrate into molecules and ossify into something hard like rock.

    You know the same old dinosaur thingy ;-).

  13. MARK permalink
    December 11, 2010 2:47 pm

    I consider myself under educated and a bit hopeful for man kind but , I really never knew how much G-d loves me to have me born in America .. a place where I have been given opportunity to step back from allot of the real terrible things that are prevalent on this earth . When my grand parents arrived here they were children. I , being of Jewish decent grew up with only half the truth and missing parts about G-d . I have now grown and have read the Whole bible and now ,along with many wondrous miracles and with understanding of the bible I do know there is a G-d ….I do not go to a church nor do I attend a temple or place of worship . I wish I could be closer to G-d with out all the pain. I have been in his presents and have felt him around me . G-d PLEASE HELP !!!!

  14. December 17, 2010 7:39 pm

    i agree wid Khan….
    God is just…..
    1 nd only 1….
    Eternal….
    ….no 1 comparable …..
    ……………………………..
    so plz dont get confused nd concentrate on 1 nd only 1……GOD.

  15. Laxmi Maya Gazmer permalink
    July 28, 2011 10:14 am

    i am Laxmi Maya Gazmer, i am 39 years old, from Bhutan i am mother of 4 childred and i am working in small industry in Bhutan…….i am blessing woman, please prayer for me and for my 4 children

  16. mark permalink
    August 1, 2011 1:24 pm

    I will put you and your children in my daily prayers,

  17. September 25, 2011 2:43 pm

    You Site Open My idea..
    Master Your Mind Power!
    Unleash The Power of Subconcious Mind to Achieve Success in Your Life.
    You can see ..Many Video Guide

    http://changelife.us

    Watt

  18. April 18, 2013 4:17 pm

    God without u I not nothing

Trackbacks

  1. Women of the world rise it is time to invent a new God(s) « A Desi Girl's Guide to Relationship Survival

Leave a Reply

