Skip to content

My latest passion

July 21, 2010

I am a person who is always looking out for some new challenges, some new ventures which gives me satisfaction and a sense of fulfillment

Some time back it was aerobics, then Yoga, then Gym and now my regular session of body toning exercises and of course my latest passion .

I suppose at this juncture of life when almost all my responsibilities are over, ( mark my words—almost all  as two main are still left . actually all the earlier responsibilities which started right after marriage were meant to culminate into the fulfillment of these two major ones but alas! “Dilli bahut dur dikhti hai” that means I am miles away from the day when I will be a happy and relieved person)  so these days when I have lots of time at my disposal ( no taking up lessons, no packing tiffin boxes, no having examination and result phobia along with my children) I can pursue all my hidden passions and dreams and indulge in satiation of my hunger to try something new.

So few days back I got this urge to try my hand at Painting. And boy!!!!

What an urge I got, it just swept me off my feet. With great determination I hunted for a teacher who could teach me the ABC of painting and the moment I enrolled myself for a 12 weeks program – I was the happiest person around.

I don’t claim to be an artist or a creative person, neither can I dream of making a name (high hopes I have) in the arena of painting world or for that matter selling my amateurish work anywhere or to anyone But I just love dabbling with colour.

I become like a small child who suddenly gets lots of mud, clay and water to play splash around.

I just go mad when I see such attractive colours at my disposal. And the moment I learnt some artistic techniques to play with the colours, there was no limit to my trying my hand and now there is no stopping.

My favourite medium to paint is my fingers.  Dipping the fingers in colour and moving them in any direction gives me immense satisfaction and pleasure and the results are sometimes really awesome (so what even if I say so).

I am mainly into making abstracts for three simple reasons

(1) Abstract paintings can be anything. During my one of net surfing sessions I was surprised to find that anything can be passed as abstract painting. A small white dot on a black background was named MYSTRY OF LIFE and the sale price on the net was hold your breath— was just $ 2000, another painting had a big cross in the center and that’s it, it was named AT CROSS ROADS and its price was $1780. Unbelievable! That gave me hope that may be one day my squabbling with colour may also fetch some good money.

(2) Second reason for making abstract painting is I am free to use my fingers, brush, rags, tissue paper, and sponge, comb anything available to make something unique. And of course abstract cannot be copied so whatever I make are solely mine. They are my own creation. And using my fingers gives me pleasure and satisfaction which cannot be put into words.

(3) Although I have tried my hand at making some figures too, rather I have tried copying figures from the work of other artist and it is a fact that they are more specific and people identify more with them (abstracts are not understood by any one—anything which is not understandable is abstract and once any one can make out what the artist was trying to make it seizes to be an abstract).

Now I am in a fix, I want to make so many paintings rather I want to express myself daily through this medium of colours but then what to do with the paintings.

One suggestion which sound practical is gift them to all my friends and acquaintances whether they want or not, whether they appreciate my work or not.

Out of sheer courtesy and good manners they can neither refuse the gift nor can then pass any negative comment

Or I can make one painting, take a photograph, then paint the whole thing white or black and they try a new one on the same canvas (saves the storage problem, saves some money for the canvas and also saves me from the embarrassing smiles of my friends).

One thing I want to say that it is a great stress buster and I have got so much addicted to it that there are times when I get up in the middle of night just to once again play with colours.

By the way if anyone wants any of my master pieces I am ready to part with my priced possession at this moment and that too free.

You never know I may become famous one day and my paintings become unaffordable for many

So go ahead .Here are some of my paintings which I like a lot and I think they have turned out quite passable. I don’t mind blowing my own trumpet.

For how long can I wait for others to admire and appreciate my hard work?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2010 11:17 pm

    Oh my god you are a super awesome painter! seriously!

  2. July 21, 2010 11:19 pm

    You can set up an exhibition of your paintings, I am sure there will be a large audience to cheer you on. Then you can sell them 🙂

  3. July 22, 2010 5:25 am

    those are wonderful paintings… good luck!

  4. July 22, 2010 6:41 am

    they are pretty neat for a beginner!

  5. July 22, 2010 6:58 am

    Nice paintings. I wish you had given a caption to each paintings. 🙂

  6. July 22, 2010 9:04 am

    You, perhaps, know that a lot of painters who started painting as a hobby have turned out to become great success.May be you should try putting your paintings on auction.–Serious

  7. July 22, 2010 11:11 am

    Very few people actually try to do something new.You are one of the few and your paintings are just awesome, Wow, way to go!!

  8. July 22, 2010 11:16 am

    Nice paintings….ohh..please gift some to me 🙂

    And if you wanna earn some $$ , start painting horses 😛 like our ex-citizen MFH.

    • July 22, 2010 12:03 pm

      my offer is open
      any one wants it can take it for free atleast at this stage

      once i become famous then I cannot promise 🙂

      • July 23, 2010 4:50 pm

        Hehe..So should I send in my address and the painting I liked; So I can auction it once you get famous. 😀

      • July 23, 2010 7:38 pm

        Hey allthecrap
        the offer is open
        and you what a high I got with your comment ” SO I CAN AUCTION IT ONCE YOU GET FAMOUS”
        I surely had a long trip to dream world of future

  9. July 22, 2010 6:01 pm

    Wow … very nice paintings…. 🙂
    I am also a painter (did formal training)
    but not in so much touch with this hobby of mine in recent times… you are an inspiration now.

  10. July 22, 2010 6:20 pm

    Have a “pay what you want” exhibition and invite close friends and family who really appreciate you. For such nice well made paintings I would like to spend money!

  11. Milan Mehta permalink
    July 22, 2010 7:54 pm

    That is incredible. Feeling passionate about something you like and be able to do what it takes to fulfill it is priceless!!

  12. July 23, 2010 8:45 am

    seriously good!

  13. July 23, 2010 1:12 pm

    You are good, stop hesitating and get commercial

  14. July 23, 2010 2:50 pm

    the paintings are beautiful and very creative… i wouldn’t call them naive ones
    keep going with ur work 🙂

  15. July 23, 2010 2:58 pm

    Difficult to believe that you are a novice. Grt paintings.

  16. July 26, 2010 12:34 pm

    Heh..Pleasure is mine…I really liked that 2nd pic ….lady in blue n red.

  17. August 16, 2010 1:46 pm

    Wow! you are being too modest, these paintings are really good. My favorite is the seventh one…lovely combination of colors 🙂

    Congratulations, and continue to post more about your paintings

Leave a Reply

