Skip to content

A SALUTE TO THOSE WHO MADE ME —– THE MOTHER

May 9, 2010

tomorrow  is the Mother’s day and mothers all over the world will be wished for being what they are —  THE MOTHERS and children will Thank and  talk about their mothers and what the mothers did for the them.

But on this day I want to talk about the ones who are responsible for me being the mother. The ones ,without whom, I would not have been ,what I am today— A MOTHER.

Ofcourse husband dear is responsible to a great extent but I will not talk about him today but I want to talk about my two little ones (not so little now but for me they will always be little) without whom I think my life would have been meaningless.

Neha and Ujjwal, my daughter and son— who gave purpose to my life, whose presence gives me something to look forward to in my life.

I am not ashamed to say that my life revolves around these two. A smile on their face makes my day and a slight frown or a shadow of stress even a slight change in voice modulation is enough to send me to frenzy and turn my day upside down.

These two by their loving acts have brought tears in my eyes so many times (actually they have made me cry more by their fights, arguments, and tantrums) 🙂

My son when he was just three year old  once on Rakhi day when the daughters of the family were busy tying Rakhi to boys of the family saw me standing silently at one corner came to  me with his teddy bear and said, “ Mummy you are feeling bad because your brother is not here and you have no one to tie Rakhi to , please tie Rakhi to my teddy bear ” and he forced me to put tikka and tie Rakhi to his teddy bear.—- will this not make any mother shed tears of joy

And no one can imagine what Neha did on one mother’ day. She knew I wanted a Jharokha ( A Rajasthani show piece in the shape of a window) desperately so she went to a shop and bargained and bargained for a Jharokha as the shopkeeper was selling it for Rs 700 and she had only Rs 200/-. She sheepishly told the shopkeeper,” uncle it is for my mother. I want to give to her on her mother’s day, Please think that you are buying it for your mother and let me buy it for my mother”. And surprise of all the man actually got emotionally blackmailed into selling it for just Rs. 200/-.

There are innumerable instances where these kids have shown their selfless , unconditional love, their confidence , faith and trust in me ,which have made me bow my head in front of God for this honor of motherhood bestowed upon me.

Such is the blind confidence they have in me that it is unimaginable for them to realize that I do not possess knowledge about many things or I am not a super efficient mom. I feel guilty when I have to tell them, “sorry, but I have no knowledge about this topic” and then they say, “Please do not say that. We cannot imagine that you do not know something. You are supposed to know each and every thing”

Such are my kids—ever ready to criticize me, my dressing style, my habits, my views, my philosophy, always commenting on the way I waste my time but always praising me in front of others, encouraging and motivating me to do something worthwhile and going out of the way to do things which will make me happy. ( Ain’t I the lucky one? touch wood!!!!!!!!!!!!)

Ever ready to argue with me, fight with me but always there for me to support  and stand up to me when they find me fighting alone in some situations.

My existence in the blogging world is because of Neha. and my show off on the knowledge and expertise (?) in computers amongst my friends is because of Ujjwal.

Neha and Ujjwal two different persons with different personalities, different likes and dislikes, different styles yet similar in many ways.

They may fight, shout, among themselves but when it comes to outside world they are just one. To the outside world they are just one.. It is amazing to see both of them supporting each other, taking each other’ side just few minutes after their sibling quarrels.

Motherhood has made me realize that I am capable of so much love and tenderness, patience and forbearance, strength and magnanimity, tolerance and fortitude that I am overflowing with all of them.

The flow of emotions which I experience when they come and hug me or put their head in my lap is beyond words and I cannot trade that feeling with anything in this world

I cannot imagine what my life would have been without them.

I suddenly realized that I have written about my motherhood earlier also

(https://anjugandhi.wordpress.com/2009/05/29/motherhood-my-own-feelings/)

but then such is my love for them that I can go on and on about them and how proud I am of them

Thanx, Neha and Ujjwal, for making me a complete woman and bequeathing me with this greatest honour of being a mother.

THIS POST HAS BEEN SELECTED AS Top 25 Tangy Tuesday Picks‘ of the year 2010

this post has been selected as Top 25 Tangy Tuesday Picks' of the year 2010t

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 6:55 am

    How true. It is really the children who are responsible for making a Mother.
    Happy mother’s day

  2. May 9, 2010 8:52 am

    A very nice post. It is true thanks to our kids we are honored and blessed to be mothers. I too am proud of my daughters and thank God for making me enjoy Motherhood. Happy Mother’s day to you 🙂

  3. May 9, 2010 9:39 am

    It reminds me my own mother. It reminds me the parenting experience with my four years old son. Good article.

  4. May 9, 2010 10:47 am

    VEry nicely put, kids teach us so many things about ourselves isn’t it?

  5. May 9, 2010 12:46 pm

    Hi Anju,
    Nice to see Mother’s Day from the perception of a Mom..Whenever i used to be an irritant or do something naughty..My parents used to say that-‘You will understand how you trouble us, when one day you will be a parent yourself’. That day hasn’t come yet, but still i understand the point now. So A very Happy Mothers day to you..Cheers..

  6. May 9, 2010 3:17 pm

    thats so true….nt only husb but also amny people are to be thnked…..we are called mothers by our beautiful kids…and we feel proud….i kn they sometimes irritate us but that’s nt the only thing….this lovely package has so many lovely things to unfold….they love us and make us proud by their little deeds….My son Neil who is just of 2.8 yrs old..when he helps me in my household work makes me happy…when i feel low or feel sad..i dnt smile..he comes to me and hug me saying mummy plz smile….and he litteraly begs me to do that…this makes me so happy …the feeling cant be expressed…
    And yes Happy mother’s Day to u

  7. May 9, 2010 9:32 pm

    Let me quote from the ‘Ramayana’:

    जननी जन्मभूमिश्च स्वर्गादपि गरीयसी

    [Meaning: The mother is higher than the motherland… even higher than heaven.]

    • ashay permalink
      June 21, 2011 1:22 am

      Roshmi , one correction : It means that mother and motherland ranks higher than mother land . Which means we should give same respect to our motherland as we are supposed to give to a mother .

  8. May 10, 2010 9:56 am

    Neha and Ujjwal both are very lucky to have you as their mother, thanks for sharing your sweet memories, wish a very happy mother’s day!

  9. May 12, 2010 8:54 am

    Happy mother’s day Anju 🙂

  10. May 13, 2010 7:06 am

    Hi Anju,

    Nice post. Its So true.

    No matter how miserable things are, jus the little smile of the kid could flip things.

    I personally believe kids are Gods in Disguise.

    Enjoyed Reading your blog.

    Cheers

  11. May 14, 2010 2:21 pm

    very nice post

    some one said :

    ” Being a full-time mother is one of the highest salaried jobs… since the payment is pure love.”

    Happy Mother`s Day!

    मदर्स डे के शुभ अवसर पर …… टाइम मशीन से यात्रा करने के लिए…. इस लिंक पर जाएँ :
    http://my2010ideas.blogspot.com/2010/05/blog-post.html

Trackbacks

  1. Best Posts from Indian Blog sites

Leave a Reply

