Skip to content

DREAMS NEVER DIE

April 13, 2010

There are three dreams/nightmares which I often see

  1. I am appearing in some exam, and I have forgotten everything/ I am leaving my paper blank/I am late for the exam/I want to cheat . I want to copy but not able to etc – the gist is that I am going to fail in my exams. Imagine seeing this dream even now – after about 27 years of finishing my college life Even now in the month of January – April I often get up from my sleep with a start—“how could I sleep so late, don’t I have to study”?. ( this used to happen in good olden days of student life)
  2. Another dream I often see is I am falling down/ unable to cross the road or bridge/ or the best is someone has removed the stairs or have broken the bridge so I cannot reach my destination.
  3. Death of some near or dear one. This dream invariably leaves me shivering and trembling with fear.

I have often wondered why I dream about these particular things so often. I read books and surfed and surfed.

According to many psychologists and dream analysts this is all because of the fears embedded in my sub conscious.

The dream about exams clearly shows how traumatic is the experience of exams for the students. And to dream about the same stuff even now clearly indicates the stress and pressures we under go because of the exams.

The dream about not reaching the destination, or finding hurdles or falling down again shows how our desire to achieve more and more, to become some one important in life, to reach the top becomes an obsession for us. Again the fear of failure is always there which, becomes a hindrance at each and every step. We all want to reach the top and want to remain there for ever so the fear of falling from always remains.

The dream about death is surely a sign of our insecurities, our love towards someone close by. The fear of losing that person to death is always lurking in our subconscious.

Whatever may be the psychological reasoning and rationale behind these recurring dreams the fact remains they still haunt me at this stage of life. And I still get up trembling and shivering in the middle of night. My rest of the night is spent in praying or chanting some mantras.

These dreams still leave behind a residue of headaches, anxiety and 2-3 stressful days.

I really wonder whether others also get dreams like this and if they do how do they cope up with the after effects of these night mares.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Rohini permalink
    April 13, 2010 5:14 pm

    Hi,
    it was great reading your dreams….I also mentioned the smae kind of freams in my Blog…find time to go thru them all…
    dreaming alws excites me…i dnt think it has ever given me stressful days and nights…though many times got fearful dreams too…but the best way is to see them,and enjoy them. Its hard to analyse them….but if one can then it is said it helps…
    PS – a new dream posted today…plz go thru it..and give ur views
    http://rohini-myweirdestdreams.blogspot.com/

    thnx…and enjoy ur dreams…dnt bring negative anxiety

  2. April 13, 2010 6:44 pm

    OMG..I never thought I would read anything close to what you have written. I dream a lot and the worst part is I remember most of it. Your first dream is exactly what I dream quite often even thought I finished my studies few years ago. Some times I get my results as well in the dream and let me tell you I have never passed a single exam in my dreams . So I get up with a bitter feeling !! The after effect is also similar to what you have said. I am kind of used to it now… While reading your post I felt that I am not the only one who go through the same and its like you are telling me what dream I had last night!! So well done ! Thanks a lot for the post!

  3. April 13, 2010 10:14 pm

    I really like your blog, cause you are always writing on some rare topics. Anyway, I would like to say that during my childhood I used to see some different dreams. I still remember. I want to start a blog on dreams. Draft was prepared but afterwords deleted cause now I don’t see such dreams. OK this post is very interesting.

  4. April 14, 2010 1:28 am

    HI Anju,
    I am so glad youre atleast trying to find out what these dreams mean to you. If they are causing you stress and anxiety..I suggest a glass of warm water with honey every night before bed. It calms the nerves and the brain.
    As for the dreams itself, I think you need to vent about this very openly with someone. Maybe a close friend, a confidant….Talking about it openly helps the psyche to resolve issues.
    If you ever need to talk drop me a line . I would love to help you. Am a counseling Psychologist 🙂
    Much Love,
    ~Zeenat {Positive Provocations}
    p.s. u have my email address in ur comment form 🙂

  5. April 14, 2010 9:01 am

    I think we all dream and a lot of fears and ambitions come true.
    Unless, one dreams big, one can never make it big.

  6. April 14, 2010 9:54 am

    heheh… guess wht.. there is one dream that haunts me always… that is I am suffering from loose tooth and I am struggling with it while talkin , eating, etc that at the end my tooth breaks..!!! Another dream is I see myself falling off the bed and that jerks me out of sleep only to realise I am still on the bed but out of dream!!!
    How I cope? well… I dont do anything.. just laugh it off!!! Life is too little to spend time worrying..!!! 😀

  7. April 14, 2010 12:13 pm

    Yes!! 1 & 3 dreams are common to me! and first one terrorize me alteast four to five times in a month!

  8. Azahar idris permalink
    April 14, 2010 2:43 pm

    What about wet dreams then?

Leave a Reply

