Skip to content

women I am proud of you !!!!!

April 5, 2010

I had heard so much about women driving taxis, auto rickshaws, buses, Lorries, trucks and of course planes.

Unfortunately till yesterday I didn’t have the honour to be driven by a woman driver. (I am not talking about woman driving their personal cars)

But yesterday the stars favoured me.

Yesterday when I was flying from Bangalore to Bombay, after every one had settled down in the plane an announcement was made that the captain of this flight is Ms Pooja —-.

I could not believe my ears. I felt completely dazed and stupefied.

My pilot is a woman!!!!!!!!!!. It was such a majestic feeling.

I cannot just explain the flow of emotions I felt.

I just looked at my husband to gauze his reaction to the announcement.

To my utter surprise he very proudly nodded at me and told,” see a woman flying the plane, girls are doing this also”. This from a man, who is always criticizing the way women drives, was definitely a moment worth cherishing.

I will be honest and admit that i sat uptight the moment the plane started skirting. Normally I don’t pay any attention when the plane takes off or lands but i was feeling a splurge of proud emotions and wanted to relish each and every moment of the achievements of someone from my own sex.

For a second I was just bit scared whether it would be a bumpy flight, whether there would be sudden jerks. Not that I doubted the ability of the lady in command but I was a bit apprehensive about my husband’s as well as fellow passengers reaction. I didn’t want anyone to comment, “What else can you expect from a woman pilot or a driver”.

But I realized that I was worrying unnecessary.

It was such a comfortable flight (if one can forget the one hour stay in the air after reaching Mumbai because of traffic congestion).

I came down feeling proud of the lady who literally had our lives in her hand and equally proud of all the women who are invaded the areas which were restricted to men only earlier.

I am still on cloud nine that I was flown by a woman. I feel like shouting from roof top, stopping every one , calling up all my friends and inform every one that I had the privilege of  seeing a woman fly a plane and i was one of the co passengers.

Hats off to all those women who have proven that they are not only endowed with physical assets but are much more beyond that.

Hats off to all those women who make me feel proud of my womanhood.

So what if I have not achieved anything worth boosting in my life, someone out there from the same gender as mine is definitely rising high and scaling new horizons never heard of before.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Suffix permalink
    April 5, 2010 1:41 pm

    I am proud of her too, lot of guts required is nt it to be a pilot?!! She is great.

    • April 5, 2010 7:53 pm

      It definitely requires guts. I for one cannot think of driving a car. 🙂

  2. Sujata Chawda permalink
    April 5, 2010 5:18 pm

    Women are doing almost everything that was once considered as a mans job….it is indeed heartening and encouraging to see that the once upon a time male dominated society is accepting this change….kudos to womanhood for making this happen.

    And Anju….remember you have achieved a lot too. I am sure you have been a pillar of stregnth to your family. Every achievement need not always be explicit…..By being a support to an achiever, you in turn become an achiever. Remember….behind every successful man there is a woman.

  3. April 5, 2010 5:55 pm

    We should be proud of our women–they are amongst the best in the world.
    I have flown with a Lady pilot on Mumbai -Delhi sector. It was a great experience especially when she came out of the cockpit to interact with passengers.
    Only this afternoon, I was telling some one that Govt must hand over the system of PDS to women and the country would see a difference within months.

    • April 5, 2010 7:56 pm

      B K Chowla, actually you are right, women with their realistic appraoch, with their maternal touch to all the problems, with their ability to think with their heart as well as with their minds can bring difference. although all women are not alike. we have so many examples of our so called women leaders. but yes in general women can prove to be better adminstrators.

  4. April 5, 2010 6:29 pm

    Anjuji, the lady pilot is great. Lot of courage is required to drive a plane that to in air.
    You had written that you looked at your husband to gauze his reaction to the announcement who is always criticizing the way women drives.
    I also always criticize in front of my wife. I is just for joking. Otherwise women are now-a-days doing better than men.
    By heart I always appreciate them.

    • April 5, 2010 7:59 pm

      Ravindra ji even my son criticises women drivers. Is it a common habit amongst men to criticise women ? jokes apart. women really have to prove themselves at each step in life

      • April 5, 2010 11:24 pm

        Not not at all! She is mother, sister and grand mother of we- men. That is sufficient. She need not to prove anything.

  5. April 5, 2010 8:06 pm

    today seems to be my day. I saw a woman driving a auto rickshaw and another one as BESR conductor.

  6. April 5, 2010 8:07 pm

    oops it is BEST

    • April 5, 2010 11:27 pm

      Now-a-days SHE is seen in almost all the fields on the earth. In India I like Indira Gandhi. She had great personality.

  7. April 6, 2010 12:04 am

    Well women all over the world are creating history. Who should Indian women stay behind? Women in North America have proved time and again their abilities whether it come to driving a bus or flying a plane. All it takes is determination and there is no dearth of it in today’s women.

  8. April 6, 2010 12:44 am

    y did u end saying that u have nothing to boast about…
    u have achieved so much in so many fields..u just under-estimate yourself

  9. Shruti permalink
    April 6, 2010 11:13 am

    wow, amazing!!!! good to know this nd part of this team, feel so proud of her!!!

  10. April 6, 2010 11:42 am

    you know what, my best friend is doing a course in flying.. and i am so happy for her… very soon she will become a pilot… and that gives me a very proud feeling

  11. April 6, 2010 11:23 pm

    Ms Pooja does all of us proud!!

    sonali

  12. April 7, 2010 9:33 am

    We are like Goddess Durga…multitasking with all our hands!
    Somehow I feel i can do anything in life…except maybe pee over a wall!!!…LOL

Leave a Reply

