Skip to content

MERRY CHRISTMAS

December 20, 2009

This is our Christmas tree. Standing tall in its full glory, only thing missing is ——– 😦

Pl don’t miss out the Ganpati and OM behind the tree

Isn’t this  true cosmopolitism?

While I was buying the tree someone commented, “why are you buying a Christmas tree, we are Hindus/Jains, we don’t celebrate Christian festivals.

I just smiled at him and carried on with my shopping while thinking why do people have such rigid religious values? We are a democratic country with freedom to practice and follow whatever religion we want. Then why stop someone from doing which has been granted by our constitution.

Thank God in my family there are no religious restrictions.

Although we are Jains but Religious beliefs, faith and values know no bar in my family

My mother in law a strict Jain –No Onion, Potato, eat before sun set types. But we all visit Haji Ali ki Dargah, Gurudwara, Church or any other Hindu temple whenever the urge to say Hello to the All Mighty pops up. 🙂

We eat sewiyaan on ID, cakes on Christmas and of course tons of sweets on other festivals.

coming back to my Christmas tree

I had got the inspiration to decorate my tree at Neha’s place almost one month back ( she wanted to do it before I left Boston) When we were decorating the tree at Nehas place in Boston, at that time only I had decided why should be left behind.

So here I am all set with my illuminated, decorated tree. The only thing missing is the visit of Santa Clause with his bag full of gifts for me too.

My adult, rational mind knows that there is no such person as Santa Clause.

But the child in me who occasionally peeps out to confirm its existence is hoping that the elusive Santa clause may honour me with his visit just this time.

Because this is the first time I am praying and pleading him to drop the gifts which I am so eagerly waiting for.

We all have not seen the God but are confident of his existence. Similarly I know that may be no one has seen Santa Clause but he is there somewhere hiding from every one with his bag full of surprises and all set to bring happiness and smiles on the faces of the ones who are waiting for his carriage.

I hope he will not disappoint me and will definitely drop the much awaited gift near my tree.

If anyone reading this post has the email id, phone number, address of Mr. Santa clause please send it to me or request him on my behalf to either ring my door bell or just enter through the window.

I am waiting  🙂

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2009 1:02 pm

    Excellent effort.
    Ganapati with Christmas tree is a combo I have seen for the first time.
    Don’t be surprised if you really find some gifts under your pillow.
    In case you get the contact numbers of Santa,please do pass on.

    • December 20, 2009 1:12 pm

      Thank You so much for wishing that I may find some gifts
      and if by chance I get lucky enough to get Mr Santa Cluase’s address I will surely share it with every one.
      Pl pray that i get .:-)

  2. December 20, 2009 3:45 pm

    Yes anjugandhi there is a Santa Claus. In fact there are millions and millions of Santa Clauses. They are everywhere the spirit of giving and caring lives in the human breast. Fear not, if you have been good and you are in need, he will find you.

  3. December 20, 2009 4:56 pm

    Wonderful! Wish you a Merry Christmas and a very Happy New Year (in advance)!!!

  4. December 21, 2009 1:53 pm

    Happy Christmas Anju..Loved the tree, Loved the Ganesha..Loved them all…

  5. December 21, 2009 4:08 pm

    Your Christmas tree is good, but I am proud to say that mine is better,still in my opinion its not the size of the tree that matters but the heart to celebrate.

    Being non-christian me too was questioned by the same style. We have to freedom to celebrate,don’t we?

    If Santa visit you tell Him about visiting me also.

    Wishing you and your family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year 🙂

    ARJUN MS
    INDIA

  6. December 21, 2009 4:38 pm

    Excellent. True Globalization this time in terms of Religion as well. I must say, Santa will be really happy with you this year for all the good deeds that you have done. Surely, wait for him to come over and drop something underneath your tree.

  7. December 22, 2009 10:25 am

    a big hi5 for celebrating..i am happy that my parents too never forced us, and we celebrated all festivals with same enthusiasm..that tree looks awesome :)..merry xmas and a happy new year 😀

  8. December 22, 2009 4:09 pm

    Same here anju. W too celebrate all festivals. And I m a jain too. I dont think it is much appropriate to say it but I eat non veg too. My parents have never forced anything on me. Thank god for that. But yes, thre is my nani who follows every jain tradition and culture. And we respect it too… 🙂

  9. December 23, 2009 7:56 pm

    thank you for the sweet comments on my joke blog. I am glad you enjoy the humor

  10. December 28, 2009 9:37 am

    nice images! hope you had a nice christmas too!

Leave a Reply

