Skip to content

I LUST AFTER————-

December 17, 2009

Every time after making payment at my grocers shop if some change ( 1-2 Rs ) has to be given by him to me, he immediately asks me, “ Imli ki goli du ya katti mithi goli”

And with a sheepish smile I always come back relishing those small sugar coated imli balls  in my mouth and enjoying every single moment till the tastes lasts in my mouth of those mouth watering IMLI KI GOLI

Mind you these golis ( small rounds of imli—tamarind) cost only 50 paise per piece but boy!!!!!!!!!!! ,I will never trade them for all those expensive chocolates.

Hari imli, kamrak, and imli ki goli.

Mere mention of these is enough to make anyone’s mouth water, go back into flashback, and remember those school days and that khomche wala outside the school gate and those mouthwatering items which are available for just 1/2 rupees.

Just put them in your  mouth, , roll them , move your tongue, let the saliva cover it from all the sides , the sudden khatta taste of imli or kamrak will make you squeeze your eyes suddenly and an involuntarily sound of shshshhhhhhhh will give a heavenly feeling which is just beyond imagination and words. 🙂

Many a times I have been accused of being childish, regressing to childhood, going out of my mind, even called as being LS (low society) just because I can’t resist that small sweet and sour ball which just taste just luscious

I have to just see these enticing eatables on any shop or hawker and I just go weak in my knees. the temptation to just pop them up in  my mouth and savor them till the last morsel is strong enough to stop me from doing what ever I am doing and I don’t find peace till I have satisfied by yearning for the same.

I know I am sounding too juvenile for my age. But pray tell me what is age got to do with this fixation with the satiation of my palate.

Taste buds or sensory organ for taste has no age bar, it does not understand concepts like age, maturity,adulthood. . My palate knows only one thing and that is just to satisfy its desires, its penchant for delectable sweet and sour imli ki goli.

I know may readers will make fun of me after reading this but tell me ——

Why is it that the things which a child can enjoy cannot be enjoyed by adults?

Certain behaviors, Attitudes and action are expected of certain age group but sometimes adults like us should also be permitted to retreat to idiosyncrasies of bygone days.

People who have crossed their childhood days are often made fun off if they indulge to satiate their urge for food items which are characteristic of children.

We found a full box of orange sweets from the cupboard of my 90 year old grandmother. Her physical age did not deter her from pampering her taste buds with those small orange sweets.

Why do we feel ashamed to give in to the pleasure of our taste buds.

Why do we let the child in us die a slow death? Why not let the child which is hidden in our adult body make an appearance now and then.

( https://anjugandhi.wordpress.com/2009/05/31/the-child-in-me/ )

(http://anjugandhi.blogspot.com/2009/05/child-in-me.html)

Actually I don’t mind being called childish at times. I even enjoy playing those kiddish pranks on 1st April.

I just cannot resist playing the most common juvenile prank on my husband by suddenly shouting, “There is a cockroach on your bed sheet or in the bathroom (if he is there) (he is very very sacred of this small insect). His cries for help and fear on his face are enough to send all the family members into fits of laughter.

I just want to appeal to any one reading this post to forget their age occasionally and give in to the delights of being small children and enjoy and derive joy out of those mundane things which may seem inconspicuous but are actually worth pursuing

So for once forget your age, forget about hygiene, forget about health, forget about being laughed at —- stop by at one of those hawkers who sell these tempting, mouthwatering delights and let your sensory organ of taste take precedence over your mind and just enjoy.

For I believe ,” Death is inevitable, even if take precaution and eat healthy food ,even then we will die then why deprive ourselves of these pleasures once in a while.

I DON’T EAT TO LIVE BUT I LIVE TO EAT

What about you?????

16 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2009 6:04 pm

    Hehe….I love the aam ka churan, imli ki khatti goli and the hajmola…They can never be replaced by chocolates and vice versa 🙂

    Yup, why kill the child in us and i have realized that killing it day by day makes me sad moment by moment and hence no matter what ppl think , i stay the way i want to be 🙂

    Nice post to remind us of kid in us 🙂

    Cheers
    Mahesh

    • December 18, 2009 3:22 pm

      so just run to nearest shop and buy your quota of all those khatti mithi golian and let the child in you do BALLE BALLE

  2. December 17, 2009 6:10 pm

    good we should all recognise and accept the child in Us. we should enjoy each moment in a natural and spontaneous way. Keep it

    • December 18, 2009 3:23 pm

      i am honoured by such a reply from a well known psychologists like you

  3. December 18, 2009 9:37 am

    ditto

    I love imliiiiii… n i love gol gappas……. dont really care about the hygiene… Heee… you know what, I love the thela wala who sells imli.. He gives imli worth Rs 2 in small plastic bags just like ziploc.. and i end up like yummmmmmmm….

    good to hear that these things still exist in adults.. wish they would become young and act young with us. That reduces the generation gap… seriously. Thats coming from a young girl who has always wanted her parents to become young like her..

    • December 18, 2009 3:25 pm

      we have a gol gappe wala in my colony who specializes in GOL GAPPE KA PAANI MADE IN BISLERI/ MINERAL WATER
      what more do we need in terms of hygine
      ( no one can dare to ask him whether the chutney is made from the same water or some other contaminated water 🙂

  4. December 18, 2009 10:11 am

    I guess you are not asking me this question at all !!!!!!!! are you ?????? ha ha… !!! 😛 😛 😛

    I live to eat !!! no two ways about it… !!

    you know I schooled in Gujarat in a small town and we would have a same maasi outside our school selling aamli (imli) & Kamrak & Chani Bor !!!!! and they were a huge rage… !! never would our pockets be without bor in our pockets !!!

    you just re-kindled such memories… there was also a fruit called Kothu in gujarat, sorry I dont know its english name which is eaten with Sherbet inside… !!

    we friends always thought it was cheap… but once after school was over I tasted it… and thought to myself.. why didnt I eat it earlier… it was delicious to say the least !!!!! sour, salty and sweet !!

    also in Bharuch we have masala potatoes, whole small potatoes boiled and garnished with most most most spicy masala sold you eat them with fried pipes and they sell a lot on the road… !!

    I know its unhealthy… but we just love it !!!!!!!! I have seen people coming in cars and secretly taking parcels… simply coz its too cheap a food to have !!! 😛

  5. December 18, 2009 3:27 pm

    I know
    at times we should think about the pleasures of our sensory organs
    why hanker after hygiene all the time
    as i said marna to hai hi
    to khakar mare to shanti to rehegi na

  6. December 19, 2009 12:22 am

    like the narration
    have to purchase one
    mmmmm

  7. December 19, 2009 1:05 am

    My favorite is hajmola – Imli flavoured. I always have some at home. But my kids and even my husband dislike all churan, khatti-mitthi goli etc – they love barf ka gola and gol gappas.

    Anju I also regularly play pranks on all days including 1st April. I agree with you, these are some things that need not change when we grow up 🙂

    I feel those who make us the craziest and bring out the children in us are our own kids. When my kids were young they used to record silly interviews, dance shows, rock shows and we dressed like ghosts to scare each other (nobody was scared). The kids loved watching the videos afterwards. Thanks for reminding me of those fun days… I think I am going to find some of those old videos and see if I still think they are silly. 🙂

  8. December 19, 2009 3:32 am

    I really really liked this sentence in your post – ‘Why do we let the child in us die a slow death?’. Its sad that as we grow up we often stop enjoying life’s simple pleasures.

    • December 19, 2009 12:38 pm

      after a certain age we all are expected to behave in a stereotyped way.
      most of the time people can’t imagine adults behaving like a child
      but what fun it is to revert back to that golden period
      remember that spitting scene from Titanic.
      that is pure fun

  9. December 19, 2009 8:11 am

    Anju, I love those Imli balls, have it next to my desk at workplace…..
    And so much agree with your point, to let out the child in you and have fun..
    I feel, there is no age barrier for anything, just be yourself and do what you like…

    Hey, R u back from Boston?

  10. January 21, 2010 3:58 pm

    Very beautifully stated the secret desires lies in our mind which emerges sometimes consciously sometimes unconsciously. Thanks for sharing your views.

  11. January 21, 2010 4:40 pm

    For me it’s the AAm flaovred hajmola candies, and lollipops. Sure some firends tried to ridicule me in college and hostel for that, but bowed to my adamant love for them. I mean yes i don’t get caught with them at work because at some times one does need to maintain the decorum of the palce. I take candies to work, but not my dear lollipops.

    I am a fan of the ‘sail fulkas’ mom makes. I pester her to no reason to make them for me. It’s made out of left over rotis, wherein you fry them along with spices. It’s just great.

Leave a Reply

