Skip to content

my first post from Boston

October 21, 2009

My first post from Boston.

. This time there was no excitement of going to a foreign country,As this was the second visit. I still remember the first visit. I was so nervous. Was not at all aware of the various formalities involved, immigration, halt at Zurich for 6 hours. Just thinking about the whole journey used to give me nightmares.

But this time I just walked as if this has become a part of my life. As if it is a daily routine.( although this was only the second visit)

Husband dear called me after dropping me and said,” it doesn’t feel any different at all. It just seems you are on one of your flying visits to Delhi or Baroda and I have come back after dropping you at railway station” ( I am scared does it mean he will not miss me for full month ;-( , agar bhul gaye to? )

I landed at Boston airport with mixed feelings.

Only a mother would be able to understand what I was undergoing .Meeting one child and missing the other one whom I had left in India. Excitement of meeting Neha after  9 months. My heart was overflowing with love which I was not able to shower on her from last 9 months.

9 months—— same period as my pregnancy duration and the feeling was the same. I wanted so much to see how she looks like? Will she have changed? How will I react when I will see her?

But I was missing Ujjwal my son also. 😉 And ofcourse husband dear. It was almost 24 hours and I hadn’t fought and argued with him. Aise kaise chalega? How will I manage for full one month? Thank God for small mercies like phones. We can still feel alive and close to each other by having our innumerable arguments on the phone .;-)

During my journey  I was reminded of the dialogue from HUM AAPKE HAI KAUN , “ yeh mun bhi kitna paagal hai, jitna milta hai usse jyada pane kea aas rakhta hai” Neha bhi chahiye and Ujjwal bhi.  Why Can’t I get back the good old days when we all were together?

Yes I am missing Ujjwal also. ( Neha don’t feel bad but you  both are important to me and integral part of meand as i often say you both are like my two eyes. both are equally dear and must for me)

They both often say that I love the other one more. But is it possible for a mother to differentiate between her two children? Is it possible for a mother to love one child more than the other? I don’t think so?

When I am with Ujjwal I  miss Neha at each step. Eating, sleeping, when I am out on shopping, I want her besides me every where.

But now when I am with her I am missing him. How will he be managing? What about his food? Suppose he doesn’t like the food cooked by the new cook, who will wake him in the morning for college, who will support him during his vivas? (come on Anju he is an adult, and his father is there to take care of him.)

Husband always says don’t worry so much and remember you are not indispensable.  We will manage without you.

But frankly I don’t want that too. I want them to miss me at each and every step. I want them to say , “ we are not able to manage without you” ( Greedy and selfish me)

But I am here on vacation and I know Neha is going to pamper me like a cherished flower. I suppose both of us will do the same for each other.

Enough of my emotionalism. May be it is the cocktail of jet lag , homesickness and excitement of being with Neha which has made me so emotional.

But Will bounce back with my usual vigor after few hours.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 5:50 pm

    Don’t know why but it happened…I felt heavy right there where life beats…pata nahi kyon…not that this mail was a heavy doze of emotions but I guess my heart is becoming week to accept any minute stroke of emotion…
    Fufff…I hope you have a wonderful trip.

    • October 21, 2009 7:55 pm

      will surely have
      and willhve more fun when we will come to your place and again when u will come here

  2. October 21, 2009 6:21 pm

    Aww did I read right? You are in Boston?? Please do ask Neha if we all can meet?? I promise will not do too much bakhbak 🙂

    I am like you too…..plan for days to take a break and go exploring all by myself to only miss and think about my son and husband 😦

  3. October 21, 2009 7:51 pm

    Ohhh. That’s good news. I know you and Neha will have an awesome time. Now I am missing my mother!!

    • October 21, 2009 7:54 pm

      i know we will have a rocking time. we share a funny relation. we fight, we argue, we are the world’s worst critics of each other but then we make up fast and then again we are back to being close to each other

    • October 24, 2009 12:36 pm

      yeah Zeba we are having a blast. it is just that i do miss my sunny boy too

  4. October 21, 2009 8:15 pm

    OMG my mom went through the same emotions when she was here for a month…and she just left a week ago …booo I am missing her :((

    • October 24, 2009 12:37 pm

      Iknow, and I am dreading the day when I will leave after one month. I wonder who will cry more? Neha or Me?

  5. October 21, 2009 8:33 pm

    Hope you have a wonderful trip! My mom was the same when she came here 🙂

  6. October 21, 2009 11:00 pm

    I was already a bit down and now after reading this I miss my parents. 😦

    “Why Can’t I get back the good old days when we all were together?”

    Those were the days.

    But this is now. I have to do the same for my child too.

    Hope you have a fabulous stay at Boston! Enjoy!

    • October 24, 2009 12:39 pm

      All parents undergo the same feelings. and to tell you the truth even the children are in the same boat.e ven after 26 years of marriage i always cry when i come back from Deli after meeing my mom

  7. October 22, 2009 5:23 am

    Have soooper doooper fun in Boston….with neha!!! Hey did you give your approval for the handbag 😉

    • October 24, 2009 1:00 pm

      no!!!!!!!!!!!! i dint give my approval and will not give also. because it is just a criminal wast to spend so much on a bag. LOL

  8. October 22, 2009 5:50 am

    Nice post, Anju. I think all mothers get to hear that she loves the other child more. I always felt my mum loves my brother more but I know now that she misses her daughters a lot, even though she is living with her son.

    My son on the other hand has no siblings to compete with but he is jealous of my work and often says he thinks I work too much. You can never love them too much…they will always be our little girls and boys. Our angles whom we cannot love enough.

    Have a great trip, Anju.

    • October 24, 2009 1:02 pm

      children are never satisfied. even now both my kids are complaining the same thing.

  9. October 22, 2009 6:42 am

    Dont worry. In a few hours you will be back to your own self (just as you are imagining)… Hope that you have loads n loads of fun there…

    • October 24, 2009 1:03 pm

      i m enjoying with her. roaming, shopping and gossiping all together

  10. October 22, 2009 11:42 am

    Don’t worry your, family back home will take care of themselves.You know they love you and will ensure you spend good time with your daughter.
    Once your over with jet lag,you will feel better.

  11. October 22, 2009 12:23 pm

    happy holidays…:D

  12. October 22, 2009 12:25 pm

    happy holidays anju…:D

  13. swatantra permalink
    October 22, 2009 1:07 pm

    Hi,

    I was glad to read a post about your views from you.. and it is a nice post.. i wish you a great time with the family..

    and wish you a great time!!

  14. October 22, 2009 6:48 pm

    Don’t worry as this visit of yours will be made special by not only your daughter, but also by your extended family.. as they are driving 10 hours just to meet you and make you feel comfortable. I am pretty sure that your days will pass by with ease and there will be many more blogs like this for you to cherish about.

    Happy visiting Boston.

  15. October 24, 2009 5:38 am

    Have a great time in boston Anju. I am sure your daughter and you have a lot of catching up to do. All mothers feel like how you do. Our kids are very precious to us and we want to be with them all the time.
    Incidentally I always thought my mother loved my brother more than me and she always denied it.
    Have a great vacation.

  16. October 24, 2009 6:09 am

    have a nice time with your daughter ..heard you were going to buy a bag or something for her 😉

    • October 24, 2009 1:10 pm

      thanx
      But a big NOOOOOOOOO for the bag
      i told her if u wnt to buy then atleast dont inform me as i dont want to be a part of that waste of money

  17. November 6, 2009 2:24 pm

    I am here so late! But I am sure you’re having a great time and pampering and being pampered and Ujjwal is missing you just enough for you to be happy 🙂 But actually managing just fine with his dad 😉

Leave a Reply

